The free guide for your free time


The first mayor of Rome was Francesco Pallavicini (elected on September 23, 1870), following the annexation of Rome from the Pontifical State to the Kingdom of Italy until the referendum of 1946, which decreed the birth of the Republic. There have been 34 mayors up to the present day, including 7 Governors during the Fascist period (1925 – 1944) and more than 31 acting Commissioners and Councilors. The city’s longest-running mayor was Salvatore Rebecchini (from November 1947 to July 1956) followed by Francesco Rutelli (from December 1993 to January 2001). Emanuele Ruspoli was elected four times between 1878 and 1899, followed by Clelio Darida elected three times between 1969 and 1979.

Check in Rome - a project by Markonet in cooperation with Aeroporti di Roma and Codacons | director: Stefano Zerbi